Thursday, February 28, 2013

Five Love Langauges

Years ago, Dr Gary Chapman wrote a book titled Five Love Languages. He contends that the methods we use to communicate with each other can be broken down to five categories, or languages: quality time, gifts, words of affirmation, physical touch, and acts of service. Each of us speak a "primary" love language and a "secondary" love language. 

We feel most fulfilled when we are communicating --speaking and being spoken to -- in our primary love language. If you seem to be having difficulty connecting with someone, take a look at how you're communicating. 

For example if you notice a co-worker seems to need more reassurance than you do and thrives on positive feedback, her primary love language is most likely words of affirmation. Someone who always shakes hands, hugs, or puts a hand on your arm or back while speaking to you probably has physical touch as a primary love language. If someone needs words of affirmation to feel fulfilled, and she's getting a handshake in the morning and no positive feedback on the results of her work, it's easy to see why she doesn't feel content and secure.

In our dealings with people, if we try to focus in on which love language yields the best response, we'll know which method to use to effectively communicate with that individual.

To read more about this topic, please click here

In love and light,
Krystal Kay White

No comments:

Post a Comment